Project Team

Our editorial team works together to help authors produce high quality tutorials. Please direct correspondence in the first instance to Jeri Wieringa at George Mason University who is the acting commissioning editor. You can follow The Programming Historian on Twitter: @proghist.

Editorial Board

Maria José Afanador-Llach works in the Fundación Histórica Neogranadina, a non-profit organization digitizing endangered colonial archives in Colombia and promoting digital humanities projects.

Adam Crymble is a lecturer of digital history at the University of Hertfordshire.

Víctor Gayol is a researcher and professor of history at El Colegio de Michoacán, A.C. (CPI-CONACYT), México.

Fred Gibbs is an assistant professor of history at the University of New Mexico. He is particularly interested in lessons pertaining to digital mapping, data visualization, and web publishing.

Matthew Lincoln is a data research specialist at the Getty Research Institute, and an art historian of early modern Europe.

Caleb McDaniel is an associate professor of history at Rice University.

Ian Milligan is an assistant professor of history at the University of Waterloo. He is interested in working with authors on topics including: network analysis, text analysis and data mining, as well as intermediate to advanced-level lessons more generally. For planning purposes, Ian will be on parental leave between June and October 2017.

Jessica Parr teaches at Simmmons College (Boston) and works on PLACE Project at UNH Durham. She is a scholar of the early modern Atlantic. She is interested in working with authors on geospatial lessons as well as textual-geospatial lessons.

Antonio Rojas Castro is a researcher a the Cologne Center for eHumanities, with a PhD in Humanities (Spanish Literature).

Amanda Visconti is Managing Director at the University of Virginia Scholars' Lab DH center. As a PH ombudsperson, you can contact Amanda to discuss any issues or concerns around the PH review and publication process.

Brandon Walsh is Head of Graduate Programs in the Scholars' Lab in the University of Virginia Library.

Jeri Wieringa is a doctoral candidate in history at George Mason University. She is interested in working with authors on: accessibility and interface design; data visualization; network analysis; text and data mining; workflows; and introductory lessons.

Emeritus Team Members

  • Jeremy Boggs, University of Virginia (2012-2014).
  • Allison Hegel, UCLA (2013-2016).
  • Alan MacEachern, Western University (2008-2013).
  • Miriam Posner, UCLA (2012-2016).
  • Carrie Sanders, UCLA (2013-2014).
  • Evan Taparata, University of Minnesota (2016).
  • William J. Turkel, Western University (2008-2015).

Community Participants

Programming Historian also benefits enormously from the efforts of people who volunteer their time and energy. If you are interested in pitching in, either for a single project or in an ongoing role, please find out how to contribute!

We are especially grateful to the dedicated Programming Historian authors who are not members of the Project Team:

Taryn Dewar, Kellen Kurschinski, Seth Bernstein, James Baker, Amanda Morton, Dennis Tenen, Grant Wythoff, Shawn Graham, Scott Weingart, Jim Clifford, Daniel Macfarlane, Josh MacFadyen, Jon Crump, Vilja Hulden, Marten Düring, Max De Wilde, Ruben Verborgh, Seth van Hooland, Jonathan Reeve, Spencer Roberts, Doug Knox, Heather Froehlich, Laura Turner O’Hara, Sarah Simpkin, Megan R. Brett, Ted Dawson, M. H. Beals, Elizabeth Venditto, Jacob W. Greene, Jeanette Sewell, Boris Capitanu, Peter Organisciak, Justin Colson, Taylor Arnold, Lauren Tilton, Stephanie J. Richmond, Tommy Tavenner, Jonathan Blaney, Daniel Ruten, and, hopefully, you! Find out more about becoming an author.

We also thank everyone who has helped to review lessons by reporting issues, fixing errors, or conducting formal peer reviews. At the time of writing, this has included the following people:

Celeste Tưởng Vy Sharpe, Matthew Lincoln, Shawn Graham, Patrik Persson, Daniel van Strien, Andrew Dunning, milaoiva, Amanda Morton, Eira Tansey, Jim Clifford, James Baker, Jonathan Reeve, Jacob W Greene, Luke Bergmann, Kim Pham, John Fink, silviaegt, Patrick Burns, John Levin, bmw9t, Adam Crymble, Evan Taparata, M. H. Beals, Mary Beth Start, Robert Blades, Ian Milligan, John Laudun, Konrad Lawson, Nora McGregor, Dennis Tenen, William J Turkel, Taryn Dewar, Finn Arne Jørgensen, Jeff Bain-Conkin, Nick Pearce, Amanda Visconti, Eli Pousson, Sarah Simpkin, Aurélien Berra, Fred Gibbs, Chris Forster, W. Caleb McDaniel, Nick Ruest, Miriam Posner, Dave Shepard, Thomas J. Duck, Eduardo Sanchez, Spencer Roberts, Sheila Brennan, Sara Palmer, Jeff Veitch, Tim Compeau, Stéfan Sinclair, Catherine DeRose, Jane Winters, Sharon Howard, Nancy Lemay, Ethan Miller, Lisa Spiro, Paige Morgan, Jamie Howe, John Russell, Charlotte Tupman, Erin N. Bush, Derek Price, Michelle Moravec, Ezra Brooks, Russell Alleen-Willems, Brandon Hawk, Guy McClellan, Jonathan Blaney, Tessa C Hausewdell, Jonanna Swafford, Nabeel Siddiqui, Rob Sieczkiewicz, Ben Hurwitz, Patrick Murray-John, Jason Heppler, Will Hanley, Peter Webster, Ryan Cordell, Justin Larsen, Jason Crider, Sean Morey, Léon Robichaud, Adam Dennett, Brandon Walsh, Terhi Nurmikko-Fuller, and, hopefully, you! Find out more about how to contribute.

Finally, we’d like to thank those who have been involved in organising, running, leading, or supporting workshops involving the project and Project Team:

  • Anelda van der Walt, Talarify (South Africa)
  • Johann Templehoff, North-West University (South Africa)
  • Niklas Zimmer, University of Cape Town (South Africa)
  • Renate Meyer, University of Cape Town (South Africa)
  • Jane Winters, University of London
  • Jonathan Blaney, University of London
  • Justin Colson, University of Essex
  • Carys Brown, University of Cambridge
  • James Baker, University of Sussex
  • Anouk Lang, University of Edinburgh